Agreement on claims settlement of condominiums (Divided Co-Ownership)

To facilitate the settlement of claims involving condominiums (divided co-ownership), a situation which involves several insurers, IBC has drafted an Agreement to which insurers can adhere on a voluntary basis.

The Agreement has two separate components:

Indemnity sharing
This component establishes an order of priority for the payment of certain damages and related expenses in order to ensure a complete, efficient and harmonious settlement among the insurers, while respecting the rights of the insured. Insurers who are signatories to the Schedule Respecting Indemnity Sharing (Schedule) avoid the many difficulties encountered when settling claims affecting the private portions and common portions of condominium buildings.

Waiver of subrogation
This Agreement also offers insurers the possibility of waiving their right of subrogation against the insurers of other condominium owners and against their insureds. Note that this waiver does not apply to damage resulting from a criminal or intentional act or impact by a vehicle. Insurers who have waived subrogation avoid the delays and complications involved in recourse before the courts.

Signatories to the Agreement
An insurer may adhere fully to the Agreement and thus agrees to settle a claim according to the Schedule and the waiver of subrogation. An insurer may also adhere only to the Schedule of the Agreement.

Below is the list of signatories, by level of adherence:


Content and design - U92

Convention sur le règlement des sinistres des copropriétés divises

Pour faciliter le règlement des sinistres propres aux copropriétés divises, une situation dans laquelle interviennent plusieurs assureurs, le BAC a écrit une Convention à laquelle les assureurs adhèrent sur une base volontaire.

La Convention comprend deux volets distincts :

Le partage de l'indemnisation
Ce volet établit un ordre de priorité de paiement de certains dommages et frais connexes pour assurer un règlement complet, efficace et harmonieux entre les assureurs, tout en respectant les droits des assurés. Les assureurs signataires du Tableau de partage de l'information (Tableau) évitent les nombreuses difficultés rencontrées lors du règlement des sinistres atteignant les parties privatives et les parties communes des immeubles en copropriété.

La renonciation au droit de subrogation
Cette convention offre aussi la possibilité aux assureurs de renoncer à leur droit de subrogation contre les assureurs des autres copropriétaires et leurs assurés. Il est à noter que cette renonciation ne s’applique pas aux dommages résultant d’actes criminels ou intentionnels ou de choc de véhicule. Les assureurs ayant renoncé à la subrogation s’évitent les délais et les complications liées aux recours devant les tribunaux.

Signataires de la Convention
L’assureur peut adhérer entièrement à la Convention et s’engage donc à régler un sinistre selon le Tableau et à renoncer au droit de subrogation. Il peut aussi n’adhérer qu’au volet Tableau de la Convention.

Ci-après la liste des signataires, selon leur niveau d'engagement :


Conception et réalisation - U92